- The Works of Tim Powers - http://www.theworksoftimpowers.com -

More News from Subterrenean

Posted By John On November 13, 2007 @ 6:19 pm In Earthquake Weather,Expiration Date,Forthcoming Works,Last Call,Limited Editions,New Editions,On Stranger Tides,Powers News | No Comments

The Subterranean Press [1] web site has recently carried news of two new Powers projects they have in the pipeline.

A new edition of On Stranger Tides [2] is to be published - described as an "...limited and ultra-affordable trade hard cover edition." This is set to be limited to 250 numbered and 26 lettered copies signed by Powers, plus an unsigned trade edition. On Stranger Tides [2] has only recently been reissued by Babbage Press [3], and, of course, previously appeared as a signed limited edition from Ultramarine Press back in the eighties. However, this new Subterranean edition is certain to eclipse that previous limited state, which was notorious for using the poor quality printed pages from the original Ace edition.

Also announced is a new limited set of the three books in Powers's Fisher King Trilogy - sometimes known as the Last Call Trilogy or the California Trilogy. Comprising Last Call [4], Expiration Date [5] and Earthquake Weather [6], Subterranean will be issuing the three novels together, as a matching limited set (of 1000 numbered and 26 lettered), with artwork by J.K. Potter [7]. Though Last Call has previously been published as a limited edition by Charnel House [8] - indeed, undoubtedly the most beautiful and lavish limited edition of any Powers book to date - the two other novels have never been released thus. Additionally, due to corporate complications Expiration Date and Earthquake Weather ended being published by a different company than Last Call, making a mismatched mish-mash of collector's book shelves. I applaud both Powers and Subterranean for seeking to put this right and, frankly can't wait to get hold of a set!

Further details, including news of any other contributors, on both these exciting projects will follow when I can gather more information.


Article printed from The Works of Tim Powers: http://www.theworksoftimpowers.com

URL to article: http://www.theworksoftimpowers.com/more-news-from-subterrenean/

URLs in this post:

[1] Subterranean Press: http://www.subterraneanpress.com/

[2] On Stranger Tides: http://www.theworksoftimpowers.com/novels/on-stranger-tides/

[3] Babbage Press: http://www.babbagepress.com/

[4] Last Call: http://www.theworksoftimpowers.com/novels/last-call/

[5] Expiration Date: http://www.theworksoftimpowers.com/novels/expiration-date/

[6] Earthquake Weather: http://www.theworksoftimpowers.com/novels/earthquake-weather/

[7] J.K. Potter: http://www.jkpotter.com/

[8] Charnel House: http://www.charnelhouse.com/

Copyright © 2010 The Works of Tim Powers. All rights reserved.